AIS 2015   |   Call for Papers   |   Location   |   Directions   |   Accommodation  |   Program  |   Registration |   FAQ  
Call for Papers

A Changing Society in the 21st Century

JUNE 1-3, 2015



Sustainability is a pressing global challenge in the 21st century. The growing gap between human needs and the limited availability of resources that are required to meet them has put the responsible collective management of those resources at the center of attention in global and national policy making. Sustainable development has always been central to the Zionist vision as suggested by Ben Gurion’s vision to “make the desert bloom” or Golda Meir’s famous quote: “We rejoice when a new kind of cotton is grown and when strawberries bloom in Israel”. Sustainable development is a multi-dimensional concept and as such it reflects very well the multi-disciplinary nature and concern of the field of Israel Studies. While it centers on issues of environmental protection, social justice, and responsible economic growth, it also encompasses the diversity of ways in which the debates over this collective responsibility get articulated in the historic, social, cultural and political realms. It highlights the intimate connection between past, present and future, both in a global and in a local / national context.

Deadline for Submission of all Proposals
January 5, 2015


Submission Guidelines

Individual papers and panel proposals should be submitted using the online submission form available on the AIS

Individual paper proposals should not exceed 250 words. The committee strongly encourages scholars to submit panel proposals. These should include information on the panel theme and on each individual paper and should not exceed 750 words.
PhD students who have completed their course work are encouraged to apply and should provide the email of
their advisor for approval.
All presenters will be required to register for the conference and be current AIS members.
Registration is online using a web-form on the AIS website.
Late proposals will not be accepted.

Travel Grants

All applications should be sent by e-mail to Professor Ilan Ben-Ami, AIS Treasurer, at:
The travel grant application deadline is January 5, 2015.
PhD students who wish to apply for travel grants should send a request along with a copy of their proposal and a letter from their advisor.
PhD holders without university travel support should send an abstract of the proposed paper and a current CV.

Program Committee

Csaba Nikolenyi, Chair
Gabor Balazs, Philosophy, Jewish Studies and Diaspora
Rebecca Leah Golbert, Anthropology
Yakub Halabi, Middle Eastern Studies and Political Science
Mordechai Inbari, Philosophy and Religion
Paula Kabalo, Israel and Zionism
Ian Lustick, Political Science
Arye Naor, Communications and Political Science
Bruce Phillips, Sociology and Jewish Communal Service
Yaron Shemer, Film
Shaul Shenhav, Political Science
Ilana Szobel, Gender Studies and Literature
David Tal, History
Keren Weinshall-Margel, Law
Asaf Zohar, Sustainability and Business Administration

For questions, please contact the conference coordinator, Jennifer Solomon at

Powered by