Annual Shapiro Award for Best Book in Israel Studies 2012

Annual Shapiro Award for Best Book in Israel Studies

The Association for Israel Studies annually awards the Shapiro Prize for the best book in Israel Studies published during the last calendar year.  This award honors the memory of Yonathan Shapiro (1929-1997), one of Israel's most distinguished and influential sociologists, by recognizing outstanding scholarship in the history, politics, society, law, economics, state, and culture of Israel and also pre-1948 the Jewish community in Palestine.
The Shapiro Award Committee will consider books in either English or Hebrew, in the social sciences, law, and the humanities, published in 2013.  Only research monographs (but not a collection of articles), will be considered.  The prize committee will not consider books translated from Hebrew into English and vice versa, if the original book was published prior to 2013.  However, it will consider books first published in other languages and then published in English or Hebrew in 2013.  The committee will consider books by current AIS members only.  The Committee will accept self-nominations, or nominations by individual scholars or publishers.  THREE hard copies of the nominated books should be sent directly to the Chair the award committee, Professor Gur Alroy,
Department of Israel Studies
University of Haifa
Haifa 31905

Deadline of Submissions: December 25, 2013.

Shapiro Award Committee Members: 

Professor Gur Alroy, University of Haifa;
Dr. Ayamn Agbaria, University of Haifa;
Professor Yael Aronoff, Michigan State University;
Professor Philip Hollander, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Professor Ami Pedhazur, Univesity of Texas, Austin

Winner of the 2014 Award
Professor Guy Ben Porat (Ben Gurion University)
Between State and Synagogue: The Secularization of Contemporary Israel



2013 (for books published in 2012):
Irit Keynan, Like a Hidden Wound: War Trauma in Israeli Society (Am Oved, 2012)
Yagil Levy, Israel's Death Hierarchy: Casualty Aversion in a Militarized Democracy (New York University Press, 2012)
2012 (for books published in 2011):
Haklai Oded.  Palestinian Ethnonationalism in Israel. University of Pennsylvania Press, 2011.

2011 (for books published in 2010):
Michelle U. Campos.  Ottoman Brothers: Muslims, Christians, and Jews in Early Twentieth-Century Palestine. Stanford University Press, 2010.
2010 (for books published in 2009) Co-winners:
Michael Feige. Settling in the Hearts. Jewish Fundamentalism in the Occupied Territories. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 2009.
Nir Kedar. Mamlakhtiyut. Hatefisah He'ezrahit shel David Ben-Gurion. Beersheba: Ben-Gurion University of the Negev Press, 2009.
2009 (for books published in 2008) Co-winners:
Orit Rozin, “Duty and Love; Individualism and Collectivism in 1950s Israel,” (Hebrew: Am Oved, 2008)
Menachem Mautner, “Law and Culture in Israel at the Threshold of the Twenty First Century,” (Hebrew: Am Oved, 2008)
2008 (for books published in 2007) Co-winners:
Uri Ram, The Globalization of Israel: McWorld in Tel Aviv ,Jihad in Jerusalem (Routledge) .
Anat Helman, Or v'Yam Hekifuha: Urban Culture in 1920s and 1930s Tel
(in Hebrew, Haifa University Press)
2007 (for books published in 2006) Co-Winners:
Aviva Halamish ,  Be'merutz Kaful Neged Hazeman  [A Dual Race Against Time: Zionist Immigration Policy in the 1930s] (Yad Ben Zvi)
Assaf  Likhovski,  Law and Identity in Mandate Palestine  (University of  Carolina Press)

2006 (for books published in 2004-2005, biannual award)
Orit Kamir, She’ela shel Kavod: Yisraeli’ut U’khevod Ha’adam [Israeli Honor and Dignity: Social Norms, Gender Politics and the Law]. Carmel Publishers, 2004

2004 (for books published in 2002-2003, biannual award) Co-winners:
Yehouda Shenhav, Heyehudim Ha'araviim: Leumiut, Dat v'Etniut [The Arab Jews: Nationality, Religion, and Ethnicity].  Am Oved, 2003
Gad Barzilai, Communities and Law: Politics and Cultures of Legal Identities.  University of Michigan Press, 2003





© Designed by | Powered by
Home | About | Conferences | Membership | ISR | Awards | Resources | Contact